September 17, 2009

Lobster Newberg: Actress

Lobster Newberg were a promising progressive jam band from Chicago. Were, because they recently announced that they will be on indefinite hiatus. So their album Actress serves a musical last will for now and it makes interesting listening.

Main man Colin Peterik wrote all the songs, except for Leon Russell cover Tight Rope. Percussive keyboard parts drive the songs forward, with drummer Jamie Dull and bass player Corey Kamerman riding shotgun. Phil Miller on guitar can roam free. The core quartet is expanded with hired help, most notably Dave Elson on flute, alto and tenor sax, who can channel Roxy Music's Andy Mackay and Jethro Tull's Ian Anderson.

The songs are well structured and over the top sometimes (Stay has an overlong instrumental section that never really comes together), but when the pieces do fit musical magic is lurking around the corner, especially in Bed (vocals catching a good wave to ride with the music) where and Illusion (old school prog with keyboards lifted out of Rod Argent's 101 on effective meandering melodies). The odd one out is the funky rocker Bug City, which sounds like Living Colour outtake.

Lobster Newberg:
Colin Peterik: vocals, keyboards
Jamie Dull: drums, percussion
Phil Miller: guitars
Corey Kamerman: bass

Lobster Newberg: Actress

Actress is a self-released album. Buy it from the band's website.

  1. Set Your Sails
  2. Stay
  3. Bug City
  4. Lost
  5. Wonderful
  6. Demian
  7. Illusion
  8. Bed
  9. Tight Rope
  10. Silver Cities
  11. Have You Ever Been Alone


No comments:

Post a Comment