September 29, 2009

Lions In The Street: Lions In The Street

The Lions In The Street are out of the courtroom and back on track playing good old-fashioned rock 'n' roll. Their self-titled full-length is an album that celebrates their regained freedom after the endless hassle with their "label" TVT Records. The Vancouver quartet into Seventies rock - even the stereo mix is old-school, guitars on the left and right, drums on just one mostly.

Keith Richards is obviously a huge influence and the band emulates his gift for simple chord progressions quite admirably. And since Keef is into Chuck Berry, they band comes up with nice hommage (Hey Hey Arlene). With rockers like Walking Back To You, You're Gonna Lose and Shangri-La they will go down well with checkered shirts/ well worn jeans crowd. They can cool down a bit with the gospel-tinged How Could I Be So Blind or the pedal steel of Truer Now. With snippets of harmonica and Nicky Hopkins styled piano flourishes, tasteful female backing vocals Lions In The Street is an album that will do nicely until the long-awaited deluxe edition of Exile on Main St finally surfaces.

Recommended if you like Mick Taylor-era Stones, Rose Hill Drive, and The Steepwater Band.

Lions In The Street:
Chris: guitar, vocals
Sean: guitar
Enzo: bass
Jeff: drums, organ

Lions In The Street: Lions In The Street

Lions In The Street is a self-released album. Buy it from the band's website. Release date: October 17th.

  1. Moving Along
  2. Gold Pour Down
  3. Already Gone
  4. Lady Blue
  5. Walking Back To You
  6. Hey Hey Arlene
  7. Waiting On A Woman
  8. All Because Of You
  9. You're Gonna Lose
  10. How Could I Be So Blind
  11. Shangri-La
  12. Truer Now
Live dates:
  • 10/09 Fernridge Hall, Langley, BC
  • 10/17 Media Club (LP release party), Vancouver, BC


No comments:

Post a Comment