September 03, 2009

Fanfarlo: Reservoir

London band Fanfarlo is a careful outfit, not wanting to leave notes lying around that don't contribute to the song. Reservoir is a well-crafted album, but it would have been better if they had allowed their songs to breathe.

Producer Peter Kartlis must have been pushing the band to fill every nook and cranny. The result is an album that gets bogged down by musical horror vacui. With songs about madness, opener I'm A Pilot is about Howard Hughes going bonkers, and teenage angst in general, Reservoir will make you dig out your Ramones albums to get rid of the cobwebs in your brain. Fanfarlo is a poor man's Echo and The Bunnymen.

Simon Balthazar : vocals
Cathy Lucas: violin, keyboards, voclas
Justin Finch: bass
Amos Memon: drums
Leon Beckenham: trumpet, keyboards

Fanfarlo: Reservoir Tracks:
  1. I'm A Pilot
  2. Ghosts
  3. Luna
  4. Comets
  5. Fire Escape
  6. The Walls Are Coming Down
  7. Drowing Men
  8. If It Is Growing
  9. Harold T. Wilkins, Or How To Wait For A Very Long Time
  10. Finish Line
  11. Good Morning Midnight
Live dates:
  • 09/14 Chop Suey, Seattle, WN
  • 09/15 Troubadour West, Hollywood, CA
  • 09/17 Popscene, San Francisco, CA
  • 09/20 Kungfu Necktie, Philadelphia, PA
  • 09/21 Bowery Ballroom, New York, NY
  • 09/22 The Bell House, New York, NY
  • 09/28 Deaf Institute, Manchester, UK
  • 09/29 Fibbers, York, UK
  • 09/30 ABC2, Glasgow, UK
  • 10/02 Westgarth, Middlesbrough, UK
  • 10/03 Bodega, Nottingham, UK
  • 10/05 Jericho Tavern, Oxford, UK
  • 10/06 Bush Hall, London, UK
  • 10/07 Hanbury Ballroom, Brighton, UK
  • 10/08 Clwb Ifor Bach, Cardiff, UK
  • 10/09 Brudenell Social Club, Leeds, UK
  • 11/07 Inrockuptibles Festival, Paris, France


No comments:

Post a Comment