September 11, 2009

Alberta Cross: Broken Side of Time

The seeds for Brooklyn blues rock band Alberta Cross were sown in London, when Swedish musician Petter Ericson Stakee (vocals, guitar) and Terry Wolfers (bass) started jamming. A 7 song EP The Thief & the Heartbreaker was weel received and the band played support dates with The Shins and Bat For Lashes.

The two moved to New York in 2008 and the new full-length Broken Side of Time deals mainly with adapting to the new environment. Stakee's high pitched vocals are an acquired taste - he nearly crosses the border to emo, but the band keeps him grounded - with the guitarists edging each other on. The big one is ATX, a song that sounds like a lost gem by The Mission.

Alberta Cross is a quintet that is halfway between My Morning Jacket and The Black Crowes. A bit uneven, but with plenty of passion.

Alberta Cross:
Austin Beede: drums
Petter Ericson Stakee: vocals, guitar
Alec Higgins: keyboards
Sam Kearney: guitar
Terry Wolfers: bass

Alberta Cross: Broken Side of Time

Broken Side of Time is released on ATO reecords. Release date: September 22nd.

  1. Song 3Three Blues
  2. ATX
  3. Taking Control
  4. Old Man Chicago
  5. Broken Side Of Time
  6. Rise From The Shadows
  7. City Walls
  8. The Thief & The Heartbreaker
  9. Leave Us And Forgive Us
  10. Ghost Of The City Life
Live dates:
  • 10/02 Austin, TX, Emo's Alternative Lounge
  • 10/03 Austin, TX, Austin City Limits - Zilker Park
  • 11/11 Bristol, UK, The Cooler
  • 11/12 Leeds, UK, Cockpit 3
  • 11/13 Glasgow, UK, Captain's Rest
  • 11/15 Manchester, UK, Ruby's Lounge
  • 11/16 Birmingham, UK, Birmingham Bar Academy
  • 11/17 London, UK, Bush Hall


No comments:

Post a Comment