January 12, 2009

The Naked Hearts: These Knees

The Naked Hearts
photo: David Black

Songwriters Amy Cooper (San Francisco) and Noah Wheeler (St. Louis) teamed up as a duo when they ran into each other in NYC. Now performing as The Naked Hearts they recorded for their EP These Knees on 2" tape, mixed to 1/2" and went direct to vinyl. In other words: all analog. At first they seem a lost duo from the eighties indie boom (Belly, Pixies), playing tension and release songs in a laid-back way. A bit of jazz creeps into the arrangements - Noah Wheeler studied Jazz bass, but they are a pop duo first. Take Angus & Julia Stone melodies, add plenty of spices and you have an idea what The Naked Hearts sound like.

The Naked Hearts: These Knees

These Knees is a self-released album. Available as a digital download and on vinyl. Buy it from the band's website. Release date: January 20.

  1. Cat & Mouse
  2. Call Me
  3. No One Nothing
  4. One False Move
  5. Crashing Horses
  6. Only For You

Live dates:
  • 01/22 New York, NY @ Cake Shop (w/ Air Waves, The Antlers & MKNG FRNDZ!)
  • 01/23 Philadelphia, PA @ the Fire( w/ The Antlers)
  • 01/24 Pittsburgh, PA @ Garfield Artworks (w/ The Antlers)
  • 01/25 Columbus, OH @ The Treehouse (w/ Take No Damage and Ghost Shirt)
  • 01/26 Harrisonburg, VA @ The Nile (w/ Wading Girl)
  • 01/27 Richmond, VA @ Nara Sushi w/ MAS Y MAS and Blight and Bowery
  • 01/28 Chapel Hill, NC @ The Cave (w/ Pinche Gringo and The Pneurotics)
  • 01/29 Washington D.C. @ The Red and The Black (w/ FFFEVER & Kitty Hawk)

» thenakedhearts.com
» myspace.com/thenakedhearts

No comments:

Post a Comment