November 20, 2008

Viva: Electric Cabaret: Vol 1 & 2


Viva DaConcinci is one hell of a guitar player. A regular on the live circuit Viva she has played with a lot of big names, including Martin, Medeski and Wood and Marc Ribot. Trey Anastasio told her that she should start her own band. And she did. Her vocal abilities on the other hand leave a lot to desire.

One her single disc double feature Electric Cabaret: Vol 1 & 2 she uses most of her guitar chops, on the first five tracks as a member of The NY Hieroglyphics, led by jazz cat Peter Apfelbaum before stepping into the spotlight for the remainder of the album, with a slew of songs covering a wide variety of styles, from hard rock to country. Impressive, but a bit uneven, Viva is like a kid in a candy store who wants, well, everything.

She should save her breath and hit those six strings. With a guitar tone like Viva's your don't need vocals anyway.

Electric Cabaret: Vol 1 & 2 is a self-released album. Release date: November 25th.

  1. Kansas City
  2. Everybody Wins At The Warehouse Sale
  3. Far Away
  4. Moons Of Jupiter
  5. Straight To Hell
  6. In My Dreams
  7. Psalm 39
  8. Queen Of The Mountain
  9. Like Any Other Human
  10. No, I Didn't
  11. Monsters From Another Dimension
  12. Alive
  13. Spanish Cafe
  14. Waltz For My Mother
Live date:
  • 12/16 Viva La Sextet featuring Peter Apfelbaum and Scott Kettner's Nation Beat, Southpaw, Brooklyn


No comments:

Post a Comment