November 14, 2008

Todd Rundgren produces the New York Dolls again

The New York Dolls with Todd Rundgren
Second from left: David Johansen, Todd Rundgren (centre) and Sylvain Sylvain - photo: Marty Temme

Bien étonnés de se trouver ensemble again: Todd Rundgren will produce the next New York Dolls album:

The New York Dolls and legendary record producer / rock star, Todd Rundgren have been reunited for the first time in 36 years. Rundgren will produce the Dolls' new album at his studio on the island of Kauai. Production is scheduled to start in January 2009.

This is the first time in 36 years since Rundgren originally produced the New York Dolls eponymous debut album "The New York Dolls" which included the classic songs "Personality Crisis", "Trash", "Jet Boy" and "Private World". Rundgren will be reunited with original Dolls founding members, David Johansen (vocals) and Sylvain Sylvain (guitar, vocals).

"We're really excited to be working with Todd again," says David Johansen. " We're hoping to recapture the same magic on the forthcoming album."

The album, which is yet untitled, will be released on the Atco label through Warner Brothers. The Atco label has been specially re-launched. The New York Dolls are one of the first signings to the label.

The Dolls will follow the release of the new album with a world tour in 2009. They have a few dates in Spain and the USA in December:

  • 12/03 Madrid, Spain - Heineken Venue
  • 12/04 Santiago De Compostela, Spain - Capitol
  • 12/05 Baracaldo, Spain - Rockstar Live
  • 12/06 Zaragoza, Spain - Oasis
  • 12/20 Los Angeles, CA - Club Nokia (w/ X)
  • 12/27 New York, NY - Fillmore at Irving Plaza


No comments:

Post a Comment