September 30, 2008

Arizona: Glowing Bird

Don't let them fool you. Arziona are not from Arizona. They hail from Brooklyn and ended up in North Carolina, where they recorded their new album Glowing Bird. Having explored folk rock on two previous EPs and a full length, this collection of songs are a little rougher, with occasional feedback creeping in. They kept the layered vocals and their signature dry drum sound.

The members of Arizona have an ecletic taste in music, ranging from Ella Fitzgerald to Yes to Megadeth. They like to spice up their folk mainstay with a whiff of the unexpected. Headphones stuff.

Nick Campbell: vocals, guitar
James DeDakis: drums, vocals
Alex Hornbake: bass, vocals
Ben Wigler: vocals, guitar

Arizona: Glowing Bird

Glowing Bird is released on Echo Mountain Records. Release date: October 14th.

  1. Heath
  2. Balloon
  3. Swimming Hole
  4. You Were Right
  5. Ghost
  6. The Glowing Bird
  7. Otto The Eel
  8. Don’t Have The Body
  9. Easily
  10. Colors
  11. The Fairly Light
  12. Whiskey Or Wine
Live dates:
  • 10/18 The Emerald Lounge (AVL CD Release Party), Asheville, NC
  • 10/19 3rd and Lindsey, Nashville, TN
  • 10/20 Hi-Tone Cafe, Memphis, TN
  • 10/21 Blueberry Hill, St. Louis, Missouri
  • 10/23 Slowdown, Omaha, Nebraska
  • 10/24 Fine Line, Minneapolis, Minnesota
  • 10/25 Maintenance Shop, Ames, IA
  • 10/26 High Noon Saloon, Madison, Wisconsin
  • 10/28 High Dive, Champaign, Illinois
  • 10/29 The Metro, Chicago, Illinois
  • 10/31 Beachland Ballroom, Cleveland, OH
  • 11/01 Mr. Smalls Theater, Pittsburgh, PA
  • 11/06 The M Room, Philadelphia, PA
  • 11/07 Cake Shop (NYC CD Release Party), New York, NY
  • 11/09 The State Theatre, State College, PA
  • 11/11 El Rancho Grande, Baltimore, MD
  • 11/15 The Cave, Chapel Hill, NC
  • 11/21 The Orange Peel, Asheville, NC
  • 11/22 Mr. Smalls Theatre, Pittsburgh, PA


No comments:

Post a Comment