July 10, 2008

Paul Young: No Parlez (25th Anniversary Edition)

The best thing about Paul Young was that he exposed the middle-of-the-road dance crowd to Joy Division and the songs by Jack Lee (of LA's pop-punk band Nerves). In the early eighties Young made a name for himself as an husky voiced performer who could tackle songs by Booker T. & The MG's and Marvin Gaye.

The UK always had it share of blue-eyed soul singers and his 1983 album No Parlez made it big in 1983, shipping millions of copies worldwide. Young contributed a couple of his own tracks for the album, which wasn't such a good idea. The album hasn't aged well. Production values had reached an all time low at that time and the keyboard parts sound really cheesy. The expanded reissue comes with an extra disc with superfluous 12 inch remixes, a couple of demos and two nice live tracks. It would have been a better choice to add these two to the end of the studio album.

Paul Young: No Parlez 25th Anniversary Edition is released on Sony/BMG. Release date: July 14th.

Disc 1:
  1. Come Back And Stay
  2. Love Will Tear Us Apart
  3. Wherever I Lay My Hat (That's My Home)
  4. Ku Ku Kurama
  5. No Parlez
  6. Love Of The Common People
  7. Oh Women
  8. Iron Out The Rough Spots
  9. Broken Man
  10. Tender Trap
  11. Sex
Disc 2:
  1. Come Back And Stay (12" Mix)
  2. Iron Out The Rough Spots (12" Mix)
  3. Love Of The Common People (12" Mix)
  4. Behind Your Smile
  5. I've Been Lonely For So Long
  6. Yours
  7. Sex (Demo)
  8. Pale Shelter (Demo)
  9. Better To Have And Don't Need (live)
  10. Wherever I Lay May Hat (That's My Home) (live)

» paul-young.com

No comments:

Post a Comment