December 07, 2007

Bill Staines: Old Dogs

Bill Staines

Bill Staines is a country folk singer who has been on the road longer than he cares to remember. Averaging 200 live shows each year he still finds time to sit down and write new songs. Old Dogs is his 26th album.

Staines has seen it all, but he keeps an open eye for the people and their stories he comes across while travelling between shows. Old Dogs is an album you need to hear when the sun is setting. It is a blend of originals and covers, including Guy Clark's Lone Star Hotel Cafe.

He plays guitar with a deceptive ease. It took only nine days to record and you need to be a pro to be able to do that. Listen to Old Dogs and you find your self wishing you had an uncle just like him.

Bill Staines: Old Dogs

Old Dogs is released on Red House Records.

  1. Old Dogs
  2. Great Dream From Heaven
  3. Sweet Wyoming Home
  4. Uncle Sam
  5. Savannah
  6. Cotten Pickin' (Freight Train/Oh Babe It Ain't No Lie)
  7. Once We Walked
  8. That's My Song
  9. Cody
  10. Lone Star Hotel Cafe
  11. Mama Lou
  12. The Heavens And The Years
  13. Andie's Air


No comments:

Post a Comment