September 07, 2007

Joe Henry: Civilians

Joe Henry has been making records for years. His new album Civilians is a rather bleak one. The twelve songs were recorded and mixed in his home studio with Van Dyke Parks playing piano on two tracks. As a long time producer (Ani DiFranco, Aimee Mann, Billy Preston, Bettye LaVette, Allen Toussaint, Elvis Costello, Solomon Burke) Henry has access to kick ass players who lend in hand in the creation of the album. Bill Frisell, Patrick Warren, Greg Leisz and Jay Bellerose provide a loosely played backing for Henry's lyrics.

There are politics on this album (Our Song and Civil War) and despite Henry's claim that felt quite secure when made the album, he has kept his eyes open for the shit that is going on.

Joe Henry: Civilians

Civilians is released on Anti- Records. Release date: September 10 (Europe), September 11 (USA).

  1. Civilians
  2. Parker's Mood
  3. Civil War
  4. Time Is a Lion
  5. You Can't Fail Me Now
  6. Scare Me to Death
  7. Our Song
  8. Wave
  9. Love Is Enough
  10. I Will Write My Book
  11. Shut Me Up
  12. God Only Knows

MP3: Joe Henry - Civilians
MP3: Joe Henry - Time Is A Lion


No comments:

Post a Comment