May 08, 2007

Nick Drake: Family Tree

Another collection of Nick Drake rarities will be released by Tsunami LG/Fontana. Family Tree is scheduled for June 19. Outtakes and covers with a lo-fi feel covers.

Family Tree, unlike Nick’s albums which contained only his own material, features the young artist mastering the compositions made famous by Bob Dylan, Blind Boy Fuller, and Jackson C Frank. It also showcases his early songwriting skills on tracks like “They’re Leaving Me Behind”, “Blossom” and “Come Into The Garden”. In segues between tracks, the listener hears Nick speaking aloud to himself, even laughing in between takes. The album also includes two versions of songs that ended up on Nick’s first album Five Leaves Left which were recorded by his arranger Robert Kirby whilst they were both studying at Cambridge University in 1968.
  1. Come In To The Garden (introduction) (Nick Drake)
  2. They're Leaving Me Behind (Nick Drake)
  3. Time Piece (Nick Drake)
  4. Poor Mum (M.Drake) performed by Molly Drake
  5. Winter Is Gone (Traditional, arr: Nick Drake)
  6. All My Trials (Traditional) performed by Nick and Gabrielle Drake
  7. Kegelstatt Trio for clarinet, viola and piano, (W.A. Mozart)
  8. Strolling Down the Highway (Bert Jansch)
  9. Paddling In Rushmere (Traditional)
  10. Cocaine Blues (Traditional)
  11. Blossom (Nick Drake)
  12. Been Smokin’ Too Long (Robin Frederick)
  13. Black Mountain Blues (Traditional)
  14. Tomorrow Is A Long Time (Bob Dylan)
  15. If You Leave Me (Dave Van Ronk)
  16. Here Come The Blues (Jackson C. Frank)
  17. Sketch 1 (Nick Drake)
  18. Blues Run The Game (Jackson C. Frank)
  19. My Baby So Sweet (Traditional)
  20. Milk And Honey (Jackson C. Frank)
  21. Kimbie (Traditional)
  22. Bird Flew By (Nick Drake)
  23. Rain (Nick Drake)
  24. Strange Meeting II (Nick Drake)
  25. Day Is Done (Nick Drake)
  26. Come Into The Garden (Nick Drake)
  27. Way to Blue (Nick Drake)
  28. Do You Ever Remember? (M. Drake) performed by Molly Drake


No comments:

Post a Comment